The statement, published on October 2 on the website of the Australian Foreign Office, does not provide a list of Russians. However, it is specified that financial restrictions will be imposed on them. In addition, they will be banned from entering the country.

Australia also joins the claim of Ukraine in violation of the Convention on the Prevention of the Crime of Genocide against the Russian Federation to the International Court of Justice.